All Saints’ Church began its life in 1960 as a “parochial chapel” established by Trinity Episcopal Church on Nassau Street in Princeton. Built to address overcrowding issues at Trinity’s downtown location, the new chapel was originally envisioned as an extension of Trinity – a second location in what some considered to be the northeastern hinterlands of Princeton.
The sanctuary, church offices, meeting spaces and education building were all fully funded by the members of Trinity Church at a cost of some $600,000 (the equivalent of about $4.5 million today).
All Saints’ sylvan setting owes much to a generous gift in the 1950’s of 73 acres of land to Trinity by Mrs. Moses Taylor Pyne, a member of one of Princeton’s most distinguished families.
All Saints’ Chapel thrived from the very start. Just ten years after its founding as a parochial chapel, All Saints’ was granted status as an independent parish. Today, it is among the largest parishes in the Episcopal Diocese of New Jersey.
The beautiful Trinity-All Saints’ Cemetery located on the grounds of All Saints’ is a permanent reminder of how the two Episcopal parishes in Princeton continue to be linked in service to the community.
Although more than 50 years have passed since the first worship service was held at All Saints’, some of the founding members of the parish continue to worship here. That connection with our founding, constantly renewed by the vision and energy of newer members, makes All Saints’ a vibrant Christian community in the best Anglican tradition: grateful for its past while focused on the future.